Why does performance collapse on a kindle fire hd7?

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Firebase: Analytics, Dynamic Links, Remote Config, Performance, Crashlytics on Android, iOS & Web Browser
  • Hey there everybody,

I'm completely new to Construct 2 and this is my very first post on this forum. I hope this is the right sub forum for this kind of question (it's also the only one i found).

I tried to absorb as much information as possible about the Editor before starting my first project. Because I want to develop mainly for mobile devices I've set up a testing project and tried to get a very simple layout running on my devices. It was basically just a ground and a rectangle which the player controls through two touch areas.

iOS worked like a charm but on my kindle fire hd7 I'm getting terrible results. The game runs at 60fps but once the player starts moving they drop to 27-30 (installing the .apk on the device or using the amazon web app tester provided exactly the same results). Then I filled the scene with A LOT of rectangles (I think hundreds) - it ran at perfect 60fps until the player started moving which dropped them to 27-30. Finally I left the whole layout empty but one sphere sprite with a sine behavior moving up and down - once again the fps dropped to 27-30. The framerate always dropping to exactly 27-30 when an object starts to move seems strange to me.

I tried to find a solution with the forum search function or google but all I was able to dig out was one thread from 3 years ago and the tutorial on how to export for the Amazon App Store by Ashley. So I hope you guys can help me out, am i missing something important like a setting somewhere in Construct 2 or what's going on?

I'll attach the layout with the single moving sphere because that's the most simple one.

Cheers!