Why does text not appear properly and how do I fix it?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:06 am

I've been working around this recently, but I really want to know what I've done wrong (or if this is a bug - it probably isn't).
Note: Just to clarify, there is no event sheet attached to this layout.
So in the layout editor, this is what the layout looks like:
Image
But when I run the layout, this is what the layout looks like.
Image
It only happens with text, and it's very annoying - I've had to do this:
Image
To get this:
Image

Thanks in advance!

Eliclax
B
14
S
3
Posts: 17
Reputation: 788

Post » Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:10 am

Did you check Configuration Settings in your project properties? What's probably suspect in full screen scaling settings (try turnin fullscreen off completely, though), high-dps display, and sampling, besides maybe downscaling. As well as possibly Pixel rounding.
Zelda Gamekit (my project)



Example capxs:

Zelda-Style Inventory

Zelda Health

3-saveslot system

[url=https://www.dropbox.com/s/d4396pwak0oh7q6/ZeldaDialogueSystem.capx?dl=0]Zelda-like Dialogue[
B
47
S
24
G
30
Posts: 517
Reputation: 19,464

Post » Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:18 am

LaDestitute wrote:Did you check Configuration Settings in your project properties? What's probably suspect in full screen scaling settings (try turnin fullscreen off completely, though), high-dps display, and sampling, besides maybe downscaling. As well as possibly Pixel rounding.

I just tried changing all of those, one at a time, but unfortunately, nothing seemed to work. :(
B
14
S
3
Posts: 17
Reputation: 788

Post » Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:02 am

Welcome to text rendering where the font used and the results obtained vary from a browser to another.

Though in your example what is not really obvious is if the character "<" and the word "Settings" are in the same text object ?
My guess is they are not, and you are even possibly using a TextBox object in the mix which makes alignment even more difficult.

Apart from correcting in the layout for each platform you are aiming to release on there is no solution I know of for such issues. Apart maybe using SpriteFont, but SpriteFont then bring their own set of difficulties and issues.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
284
S
109
G
91
Posts: 7,319
Reputation: 87,487

Post » Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:23 am

Kyatric wrote:Welcome to text rendering where the font used and the results obtained vary from a browser to another.

Though in your example what is not really obvious is if the character "<" and the word "Settings" are in the same text object ?
My guess is they are not, and you are even possibly using a TextBox object in the mix which makes alignment even more difficult.

Apart from correcting in the layout for each platform you are aiming to release on there is no solution I know of for such issues. Apart maybe using SpriteFont, but SpriteFont then bring their own set of difficulties and issues.

Great...... :roll: Well thanks for the help anyway :)
And btw, The "<" isn't a character, it's actually a sprite. Which probably explains why it stays in the same place.
B
14
S
3
Posts: 17
Reputation: 788


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kenthria, mikehive, plinkie, Yahoo [Bot] and 12 guests