why games exported through nwjs use internet ?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:42 pm

hi, i just exported my test project and my firewall told me the exported game is trying to connect to internet.
why is that? i give no such instructions to game to connect to internet ???
can anyone tell me why is it connecting and where? (if you want i can provide IP Addresses)
and how can i stop it?
Last edited by thegamedev on Thu Jan 05, 2017 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
5
Posts: 9
Reputation: 243

Post » Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:53 pm

why no replies ?
B
5
Posts: 9
Reputation: 243

Post » Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:04 pm

Perhaps no one knows.... The browser object has a flag to indicate whether you're online or offline. It could be that - it cannot detect whether you're online without testing it. Does your firewall indicate where the attempted connection was being made to?
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
74
S
20
G
69
Posts: 2,215
Reputation: 43,852

Post » Thu Jan 05, 2017 11:50 pm

Colludium wrote:Perhaps no one knows.... The browser object has a flag to indicate whether you're online or offline. It could be that - it cannot detect whether you're online without testing it. Does your firewall indicate where the attempted connection was being made to?


i just captured two IPs now.

IP: 216.58.205.174 (Google Inc.)
Protocol: TCP
port: 80

IP: 221.120.207.20 (PTCL) (PTCL is my ISP)
Protocol: TCP
port: 80

first thing came to my mind that it's pinging, second thing it's resolving dns, but it's not icmp or dns port. it's port 80 which is web port.

may be C2 games has google analytics in it? or something like that?

i don't have any browser object in my game, actually it's a first tutorial by C2, i just tested it by exporting it, and it contact internet.

it would be good if C2 team can throw some light on it.
B
5
Posts: 9
Reputation: 243

Post » Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:40 am

Most likely an updater.
You might check the app manifest and see if there's anything relevant there.
Image ImageImage
B
169
S
50
G
170
Posts: 8,292
Reputation: 108,728

Post » Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:12 am

If you run an empty nw.exe does it have the same behaviour?
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
74
S
20
G
69
Posts: 2,215
Reputation: 43,852

Post » Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:53 pm

newt wrote:Most likely an updater.
You might check the app manifest and see if there's anything relevant there.


i don't know how to do that?

Colludium wrote:If you run an empty nw.exe does it have the same behaviour?


yeah, check it yourself if you have a firewall. i just tested a new empty project exported through nwjs, and it just tried to contact on...

IP: 172.217.23.78 (Google again)
Protocol: TCP
port: 80

btw i am using windows 7 64bit ultimate. and it's totally virus free. because i'm very concerned about security and thats why this connection of internet specially to google! makes me uncomfortable. if i own a game i must decide if it can go online or not.
B
5
Posts: 9
Reputation: 243

Post » Sat Jan 07, 2017 12:35 am

It's something in nwjs, which is based on chromium, which is made by Google. I found this page that sounds like the issue, don't know if it's helpful though.
https://github.com/nwjs/nw.js/issues/4669
B
92
S
32
G
107
Posts: 5,280
Reputation: 69,971


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bobcgausa and 8 guests