Why is my app now failing to start up on mobile?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:43 am

*UPDATE: After days of work and probably around 20hrs of total work, I finally figured out it was Spriter's fault the entire time. It took me so long because I didn't suspect it as the cause. When I delete all SCML objects, it works, both in simulate and build. No runtime error, no black screen. Spriter just recently released version 10, an update I accepted, after which I also immediately looked for and installed the latest Spriter plugin for C2 as well, something I always do after every Spriter update, since it doesn't appear to be done automatically. So there's needless to say a high chance that there's a major bug either in Spriter version 10 or its C2 plugin. I'll look into it further tomorrow and then alert Spriter to it. ...Finally!

Every build of my app thru XDK was doing fine on mobile, both with APK tests as well as when downloaded from the Play store, until, for some unknown reason, with no special change or edit to the project that I know of that would have any effect on the app's ability to simply start up in the first place, it never starts up anymore on mobile, simply showing the splashscreen set up in XDK, then a quick white flash and just black from then on. I don't know what to do or try anymore to be able to run the app on mobile. I get the same results on 2 different Android devices. The good news should be that there's probably one simple setting that I can toggle someplace in the process, either when exporting in Construct 2, or in the XDK settings, to get it past startup. What is a likely culprit in this sort of situation? https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... ychomachia
Last edited by Team EternaL on Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
13
S
5
G
1
Posts: 54
Reputation: 1,551

Post » Thu Dec 29, 2016 11:33 am

Have you tried re-exporting with the latest stable release? The release notes describe some fixes that some apps may need: https://www.scirra.com/construct2/releases/r239
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,782

Post » Thu Dec 29, 2016 12:23 pm

Ashley wrote:Have you tried re-exporting with the latest stable release? The release notes describe some fixes that some apps may need: https://www.scirra.com/construct2/releases/r239

I just downloaded it now, but it tells me my project was saved in release 241 or newer, whereas my current release is 239, so that I need that version or newer to open it, so it looks like the latest stable isn't my answer. I very much appreciate your help!
B
13
S
5
G
1
Posts: 54
Reputation: 1,551

Post » Thu Dec 29, 2016 12:56 pm

And I tried again with r241 right now just in case, but same issue, as it's already the release I was using. So I still have the same problem. Any help would be appreciated, as I don't know what to do.

Edit: So assuming it isn't a bug, what may be one or more most likely causes of a black screen instead of the app starting up? It doesn't reach the loader bar stage either.
B
13
S
5
G
1
Posts: 54
Reputation: 1,551

Post » Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:09 pm

@Ashley Can it have to do with C2's IAP plugin for any reason? I have it in my project, and need it for an IAP, and when I tested a fresh new export folder and XDK build, it began with these two errors, I'm assuming just because of the IAP plugin in C2:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/t25jahen3lp5kxw/error1.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/s/z80bqkwvx1oq7sh/error2.jpg
I selected the only choice to move on, 'Remove', and, without editing anything, the Build Fails with these errors:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7c7sz6sckl4fmtr/error3.jpg
Maybe C2 needs a fix to remove or update or fix something with the 'File' plugin? I removed it and added XDK's File plugin, which passes the Build, but no matter what I try in regards to plugins, it still doesn't get past a black screen on my Galaxy S7 mobile device.
These are the plugins I use:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/gc4920ni7bqgvlq/plugins.jpg
I assume I need the Media plugin in XDK, which includes File and Compat. But whether I have those there or not, the build doesn't get past the black screen.
I also use this plugin for IAPs:
https://github.com/maxmoore14/AndroidInAppBilling.git
But same deal, it's a black screen whether I have that there or not. I'm just trying to pin the black screen on anything to do with plugins, as I'm unsure what I could've possibly done or changed in C2 to cause it to not even run. I do notice the APK doesn't require any special permissions when I install it on mobile, despite that I think it should mention something to do with Files or Audio.

Do you notice anything wrong? Or anything I should try?
B
13
S
5
G
1
Posts: 54
Reputation: 1,551

Post » Sat Dec 31, 2016 6:39 am

I still need help.

I see 166 errors from the Simulate tab: > https://www.dropbox.com/s/fynzlqvzbfj8e4t/errors0.jpg <> https://www.dropbox.com/s/danrlqdydoxz3he/errors.jpg < Does that show what the solution might be?

By the way, this was from a fresh clean new Construct 2 export/project file directory with a new name, so there are no problems with incorrect project updates/re-exports.

Also, I just built it using the "old method" of C2 export and XDK import, to see if it helps, but still the black screen. I deleted 3 plugins from the additions file (cc.fovea.cordova.purchase, https://github.com/maxmoore14/AndroidInAppBilling.git, and cordova-plugin-inappbrowser) and added them thru the plugin manager, but the build failed because cc.fovea.cordova.purchase failed to install. Unsure if it's because of the Billing Key I pasted (I used the 'License Key' from Play Store), but so I removed that plugin, which passed the Build, but still resulted in the black screen.

Any help would be appreciated, as I'm stuck and desperate, since my work has been stalled for a few days now and I was hoping to be done by New Years. Even older backup versions of the project, that ran successfully on device before, don't anymore, which seems especially strange.

P.S. I always found it strange that XDK seems to find that my C2 project uses "https://github.com/maxmoore14/AndroidInAppBilling.git" right from the moment I open the project for the first time in XDK after a fresh export from C2, as that doesn't look to me like something that would be an officially-supported C2 plugin, and I can't/don't know how to add custom plugins into C2 myself, to have added it myself.
B
13
S
5
G
1
Posts: 54
Reputation: 1,551

Post » Sat Dec 31, 2016 2:17 pm

Is this a useful shortcut to finding out what's wrong?: The Simulate tab gives me this as the last error:
Code: Select all
Uncaught ReferenceError: cr_createRuntime is not defined      index.html:86

And line 86 in index.html is "cr_createRuntime("c2canvas");" seen below:
Code: Select all
    <script>
      document.addEventListener("deviceready", function ()
      {
         window["c2iscordova"] = true;
         
         // Create new runtime using the c2canvas
         cr_createRuntime("c2canvas");
         
         document.addEventListener("pause", function() {
            cr_setSuspended(true);
         }, false);


*UPDATE: After days of work and probably around 20hrs of total work, I finally figured out it was Spriter's fault the entire time. It took me so long because I didn't suspect it as the cause. When I delete all SCML objects, it works, both in simulate and build. No runtime error, no black screen. Spriter just recently released version 10, an update I accepted, after which I also immediately looked for and installed the latest Spriter plugin for C2 as well, something I always do after every Spriter update, since it doesn't appear to be done automatically. So there's needless to say a high chance that there's a major bug either in Spriter version 10 or its C2 plugin. I'll look into it further tomorrow and then alert Spriter to it. ...Finally!
B
13
S
5
G
1
Posts: 54
Reputation: 1,551


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: David181, jorgmaquoi, unicornspitfire and 26 guests