Why many games freeze in my browser ?

Discuss new games or share memories of old

Post » Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:37 pm

I clicked me along this site: http://www.scirra.com/arcade

Many html5 game freeze in my browsers.

I used Windows 8.1 with Chrome and Firefox

thx Kohly
B
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 175

Post » Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:27 am

Make sure to update your graphic card drivers and make sure you are using the latest version of the browsers.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
291
S
114
G
95
Posts: 7,293
Reputation: 70,144

Post » Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:02 am

The majority of those games freeze up on me too. I was kinda wondering, I play everything in the world at sites like kongregate and armorgames and such with no issues...
B
86
S
43
G
71
Posts: 601
Reputation: 43,619

Post » Fri Aug 15, 2014 11:37 am

Make sure to update your graphic card drivers and make sure you are using the latest version of the browsers.


ok.

is browser up to date... check

newest graphics driver... check

it has brought nothing :(

here are a few examples:

http://www.scirra.com/arcade/games/addi ... offee-time - freeze, by the introduction at the toilet

http://www.scirra.com/arcade/addicting- ... gun-effect - freeze, if i shoot again

http://www.scirra.com/arcade/action/151 ... r-of-earth - freeze, when i clicked at "Start the Battle"

Kohly
B
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 175

Post » Fri Aug 15, 2014 1:13 pm

The Chrome 36 update broke a lot of old web content, including anything exported in 2012. This also affects Arcade games. They all need re-publishing.

The Arcade has been in need of an update for a long time but it's been delayed for various reasons. At some point we will launch a new Arcade and largely because of this Chrome update I think the best move would be to start with a blank slate, with no old games, and require everything to be resubmitted.
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,402
Reputation: 194,474

Post » Fri Aug 15, 2014 7:52 pm

Thanks Ashley,

Same problem with "Mozilla Firefox" ):

With "Opera" ist works fine. (:

Kohly
B
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 175

Post » Mon Aug 18, 2014 1:07 am

yep...me too, so cold, keep freezing....
wheeeee...new arcade, make sure you add an option to delete your own game
B
28
S
13
G
15
Posts: 87
Reputation: 10,469

Post » Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:56 pm

This is quite worrying for HTML5 developers. So Google throws a spanner in the works anytime, and thousands of games have to be updated / recompiled to work? I have the latest Chrome, Firefox and Opera and most of the fun games i liked simply FREEZE in moments upon playing. My graphics card is not that recent - about 2 years old - but the machine is only 8 months old. Ashley is a genius and deserves a Knighthood for such a great HTML5 engine, but i bet he's sweating a little if Google can do this with impunity to game devs.
I have still to decide yet whether to buy C2 which is awesome.
A worried Bunny is not amused
B
9
S
1
Posts: 61
Reputation: 929

Post » Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:00 pm

mister k wrote:This is quite worrying for HTML5 developers. So Google throws a spanner in the works anytime, and thousands of games have to be updated / recompiled to work? I have the latest Chrome, Firefox and Opera and most of the fun games i liked simply FREEZE in moments upon playing. My graphics card is not that recent - about 2 years old - but the machine is only 8 months old. Ashley is a genius and deserves a Knighthood for such a great HTML5 engine, but i bet he's sweating a little if Google can do this with impunity to game devs.
I have still to decide yet whether to buy C2 which is awesome.
A worried Bunny is not amused


You may want to ask devs if they tried to use beta features in stable versions of their games, AFAIK, Scirra included a beta implementation of the web audio API, which ended up breaking years later (the infamous said "chrome bug", that was actually fixed before it happened since they changed the way it was handled before releasing it)

Morale: Never use beta or prefixed features when you do a product that is meant to do stable and long term applications.
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Post » Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:19 pm

I think this is less likely to happen again because Google's policy has changed on shipping new features. With the web audio API they shipped a prefixed version of the incomplete spec very early on (webkitAudioContext instead of AudioContext), and then when the spec was reasonably stable they moved to AudioContext and updated some of the method names to the (now different) spec, which broke content designed for webkitAudioContext.

Nowadays they implement things behind a flag in chrome://flags while it is in development, and only enable it by default for everyone when there's more confidence the feature works and the spec is stable and unlikely to change. This is in part due to loads of sites, especially on mobile, ending up using webkit-prefixed CSS names, and actually skipping the standards-compliant names, to the extent that other browsers like Firefox and IE have to implement the webkit-prefixes for some sites to display correctly. This probably would have worked better for the web audio API as well, since it would have avoided widespread usage of an unfinished feature in Chrome before they finalised it. On the other hand back in 2011 audio support was so poor that supporting the web audio API was essential, and it took a year or two for the spec to finalise, so I don't know if we would have wanted to wait actually...

tl;dr - seems unlikely to happen again on this scale.
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,402
Reputation: 194,474

Next

Return to Game Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest