Why my game crashes?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Fri Apr 13, 2012 3:09 am

When I run the game, It suddenly crashes... and I can't think why it crashes



download :
http://www.mediafire.com/?bknq4gt04l4jttf
B
45
S
9
G
7
Posts: 73
Reputation: 7,518

Post » Fri Apr 13, 2012 3:27 am

Are you using the 'OR' condition anywhere? That would sometimes cause crashes when I tried to use it.

Aside from that, save a copy then try deleting parts of your .cap and re-running it, starting with the code first which is more likely to cause a crash then any objects themselves. That way you can narrow down what's causing it.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,422

Post » Fri Apr 13, 2012 11:59 am

Looks like your temp.exe is corrupted.You can delete the temp.exe's.I don't know where they are stored for win7 but in winxp it's stored at c:\documents and settings\your user name\Application Settings\Scirra\Temp.exe or temp3.exe etc.Delete those exe's and it should solve the problem.

Heres where the files are loacted in win7 make sure that hide system files is off then go to c:\Users\Your user name\AppData\Roaming\Scirra\Temp3.exe
DravenX2012-04-13 12:09:39
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141

Post » Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:15 pm

Thanks @Arima
I've replaced two ORs and It does not crash.

@DravenX
sadly It still crashes with ORs after removing all temp files...


hmm.. then is it a bug?
B
45
S
9
G
7
Posts: 73
Reputation: 7,518

Post » Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:28 pm

That's strange , I downloaded your cap and it does not crash on my pc.Tested the cap on winxp and win7 with no crashes.
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141

Post » Fri Apr 13, 2012 1:13 pm

It does not crash directly. you need to wait a little.
B
45
S
9
G
7
Posts: 73
Reputation: 7,518

Post » Fri Apr 13, 2012 1:34 pm

Are you running Windows Vista? I have found that my game won't crash on XP or Windows 7, but always crashes on Vista
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Fri Apr 13, 2012 5:48 pm

That would be really weird if the or condition only caused crashes on vista... since that's the OS I'm using too. :/

Regardless, yeah, the or condition is bugged. Simply avoid it by making multiple events with the same actions, or use a function.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,422

Post » Fri Apr 13, 2012 11:55 pm

I talked about the issue with the or-condition before. Although I agree that it is most of the time preferable to avoid it, you can still use it if you know of the issue that is causing those problems, and avoid it.

My skills in C++ are too low to find and correct the code, but this is what happens:
Why using or seems to fail often
In short, it can output wrong results and it needs a couple of ticks to evaluate. Both combined can lead to other issues which may finally crash the app.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests