Windows 10 Cannot Build App in VS2015

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Aug 14, 2015 11:50 am

Problem Description
I am getting the same error as here https://www.scirra.com/forum/r210-windows-10-export-build-issues_t150802

After I export my project and try to build it in VS2015, I get an error saying the Target Version is not supported. I have tried a few things recommended on google and in the thread above, such as:

Repaired VS
Reinstalled VS
Changed the Target Version
Re-built the solution
Tried multiple different test capx's
Made sure description, author, etc was filled out

Attach a Capx
None...all capx do this, even the sample ones included with construct

Description of Capx
Not capx related that I can tell

Steps to Reproduce Bug
    Export capx to windows 10
    Try building or running solution in VS2015

Observed Result
An error occurs referencing target platform version

Expected Result
It should build and run

Affected Browsers
Not browser related

Operating System and Service Pack
Most up to date Windows 10

Construct 2 Version ID
v211

Any suggestions?
B
46
S
20
G
9
Posts: 545
Reputation: 9,315

Post » Fri Aug 14, 2015 12:18 pm

Closing, please follow the bug report guidelines: you must attach a .capx that reproduces the problem, and please include all relevant information inside the bug report itself without referring to any other threads (which usually is just confusing because the thread talks about a bunch of other unrelated stuff)
Scirra Founder
B
403
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,654
Reputation: 196,145

Post » Fri Aug 14, 2015 1:26 pm

Ashley wrote:Closing, please follow the bug report guidelines: you must attach a .capx that reproduces the problem, and please include all relevant information inside the bug report itself without referring to any other threads (which usually is just confusing because the thread talks about a bunch of other unrelated stuff)


@Ashley, did you read this, or did you just see no capx and closed it? The first thread had barely any information about the bug in the report...I thought I included more. I thought I was pretty clear that any capx is doing this, including the samples that come with construct. Now I have to recreate this, with the exact same information and include the sample capx, that you already have. Seems pointless.

In this case, including the first thread was very relevant. It shows what I have tried and what solutions have already been suggested. The thread was only a few post, not hundreds of pages. I explained the issue, and included the thread to show more if people were curious but it was not needed for the bug report itself, it was supplementary. Guaranteed, if I did not link to it, someone would have told me to look at that thread and try the solutions there.

So, before I go recreate this. Any comment on what exactly you want? Otherwise, I am literally recreating it exact same with the sample capx's that everyone already has.
B
46
S
20
G
9
Posts: 545
Reputation: 9,315

Post » Fri Aug 14, 2015 2:17 pm

The thread you linked to referred to an issue in r210 which was fixed in r211. Therefore I assume the problem you are having is unrelated to that entire thread. As per the bug report requirements a .capx is mandatory. The rationale for all this is explained in the bug report requirements. Please follow them to ensure any problems can be investigated and resolved effectively.
Scirra Founder
B
403
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,654
Reputation: 196,145

Post » Fri Aug 14, 2015 2:40 pm

@Ashley instead of just closing the bug, why can't it just be re-opened and I include a capx? Closing it just to have me create a new one clutters the searching and bug section, would it not?

EDIT: Issue resolved. It seems reinstalling VS2015 multiple times does the trick. When I say multiple, I mean 5-6 times did it for me. Nothing different each time. Pretty weird.
B
46
S
20
G
9
Posts: 545
Reputation: 9,315


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests