Windows 10, Java 8, Script Minifier?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Sep 18, 2015 10:34 am

I have Windows 10, and I was ready to compile an alpha release of something I'm working on to show a few friends. When I go to do so as an HTML5 project, I have "Minify script" selected, but then get an error.

Image

I've encountered this before on Windows 7 (never had Win8) but was solved by removing Java and reinstalling. I've done this as a step here. Since that did not work, I browsed the forums. One suggestion (from a while back) said to delete C/Windows/jre and that did not work either.

So my question is this: how on Earth do I make this work? Should I be installing JDK or is JRE enough to perform this?

EDIT: Yes, it's 64 bit Windows, 64 bit Java, and 64 bit Construct 2.
B
27
S
6
G
6
Posts: 267
Reputation: 3,750

Post » Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:14 am

You don't specify what version of C2 you are using. If it's r213, then it's a known bug. If not r213, then can you compile any other project?
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
136
S
31
G
86
Posts: 5,483
Reputation: 59,752

Post » Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:24 am

Arg, I didn't realize it might be a known bug. And yes it's 213.
B
27
S
6
G
6
Posts: 267
Reputation: 3,750

Post » Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:39 am

Okay so without minifying the script, nothing seems to work properly. I tried HTML5 and NW.js exporters and neither run the game. It's as though it's loading, but nothing is happening. No music, sounds, or graphics.
B
27
S
6
G
6
Posts: 267
Reputation: 3,750

Post » Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:21 pm

So for now we just have to wait?
B
17
S
3
Posts: 62
Reputation: 1,054

Post » Sun Sep 20, 2015 6:37 pm

There is a fix to get a non-minified compiled game working. I found the instructions, and it requires you ALREADY compile your game before doing this:
- go to generated/exported not-minified project folder and find c2runtime.js file
- find function that starts like: C2AudioInstance.prototype.getDuration = function (applyPlaybackRate)
- change
let ret = 0;
to
var ret = 0;


Read more here:
https://www.scirra.com/forum/r213-problem-with-minifing-scripts-and-running-in-chrome_p968840?#p968840
B
27
S
6
G
6
Posts: 267
Reputation: 3,750


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests