Winstratos - High speed shmup

Show us your works in progress and request feedback

Post » Sat Dec 19, 2015 1:15 am

Hello, guys!

My name is Paulo Cezarino. I work as a freelance graphic designer and illustrator, and I'm a great shmup fan. I'm presenting this project I've been working on my free time:

Winstratos is a high speed shmup, designed for both hardcore and casual players. I've been carefully tuning the controls, so I hope anyone can play it!

The game

Winstratos, like many shmups, was greatly inspired by the classics: R-Type, Gradius, RayForce and many others. You choose a difficulty (from casual to hardcore, changing parameters like bullet speed and amount of enemies), a ship and blast through six to eight stages, each with its own boss at the end. After each boss, you unlock additional weapons, which I'll cover on the future!

But wait, only six to eight stages? Not really. Due to the nature of the game, you indeed won't need much time to finish a playthrough. Whoever, I'm taking the Star Fox and Darius approach, so expect a lot of alternate paths (and by this I mean completely different stages). Combined with the all the unlocking and goals, I'm expecting plenty of replay.

Graphics

Mostly digital painting, runs on 1080p. Thanks to R0J0hound for the mode7 effect! :­)
I felt like making an arcade game on the 90's. Hope you guys like it :­)

And that's it! I'll be updating this topic with more info. Feel free to comment and ask any questions, and expect a playable demo very soon!

Winstratos on:

Twitter
Facebook
Tumblr
(Still working on them!)

Thanks! :­)
Winstratos on:

Twitter
Facebook
Tumblr
B
S
G

Post » Sun Dec 20, 2015 9:02 am

Holy crap, this looks fantastic!
I so need to play this, give us the demo already!
B
S

Post » Sun Dec 20, 2015 5:05 pm

facecrime wrote:Holy crap, this looks fantastic!
I so need to play this, give us the demo already!

Hey, thanks! :­D