[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/viewtopic.php on line 1582: number_format() expects parameter 1 to be double, string given
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/viewtopic.php on line 1582: number_format() expects parameter 1 to be double, string given
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/viewtopic.php on line 1582: number_format() expects parameter 1 to be double, string given
work it - Scirra Forums

work it

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:55 am

[quote="SoldjahBoy":ygf6pkvd]@jOh
The fact that your English isn't the best, is not the reason that I (and others I'm sure) don't really like you... it's the fact you act like a big JERK for no reason. Stop trying to be a macho-sadist-masachist and behaving like a 2 year old that was just denied a ride in the Wiggles "Big Red Car", and I (and others I'm sure) will stop thinking you are a tool-bag.[/quote:ygf6pkvd]

i agree with SoldjahBoy about the big JERK bit (probably everything else as well but mostly the being a JERK bit) desire to help improve something with potential is good but the way a person goes about doing it is what people notice, especially when using words like, "kid" in a demeaning manner when you communicate with an audience of varying ages and then laughing it off as if it were the right thing to do. it's quite ironic that the word "kid" is used in an attempt to make others feel immature when an entire post is littered with this very exact thing, immaturity.

construct is currently on its way to becoming an amazing game development medium and instigating problems only hinders it's progress by taking time that could be spent improving construct with criticisms about this community and its resources typed out in half assed english that could easily have been translated using this website [url:ygf6pkvd]http://www.freetranslation.com/[/url:ygf6pkvd]
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 293
Reputation: 2,236

Post » Tue Apr 29, 2008 6:39 am

[quote:29xjzazr] (I'll spare you pasting the link 3 times ).[/quote:29xjzazr]

[quote:29xjzazr]the link conatins a .cap[/quote:29xjzazr]


I admire how u can run from simple questions. I admire how u avoid the heart of the issue.


Anyway. Goodmorning. And let me ask u again.

Does a "for each object loop" combined with an "is object on layer" work as pointed out in de .cap
behind the link that i pasted 3 times ?

Whats rain worth ? Why do u waste time on variable emboss directions to fake lights ?

Whats the value of a good pixelshader?

IF the events do not return the right objects to the actions ? With as (u make it look like an
unimportand side effect) problem that the objects can not be controlled in the events manager.

You made a Rolls Drophead Coupe, but forgot the wheels.
B
2
S
1
Reputation: 400

Post » Tue Apr 29, 2008 11:35 am

[quote="thx4this4ndthat":23qc285q][quote:23qc285q] (I'll spare you pasting the link 3 times ).[/quote:23qc285q]

[quote:23qc285q]the link conatins a .cap[/quote:23qc285q]


I admire how u can run from simple questions. I admire how u avoid the heart of the issue.


Anyway. Goodmorning. And let me ask u again.

Does a "for each object loop" combined with an "is object on layer" work as pointed out in de .cap
behind the link that i pasted 3 times ?

Whats rain worth ? Why do u waste time on variable emboss directions to fake lights ?

Whats the value of a good pixelshader?

IF the events do not return the right objects to the actions ? With as (u make it look like an
unimportand side effect) problem that the objects can not be controlled in the events manager.

You made a Rolls Drophead Coupe, but forgot the wheels.[/quote:23qc285q]

Some people are getting offtopic, so I'll try to return to what you're saying.

Correct me if I am wrong, but I think what you're trying to say is it is difficult to select objects in events to then use actions on? For each object is powerful, in that you can pair it with other conditions; 'Object is on layer' is a good example of this, but also comparing private variables and positions, it is very simple to select a single or a group of any object. It's not an unimportant side effect, and it's not really an issue with correct planning. However, the SDK is very powerful, and allows direct access to the selected object list. If there's a particular problem you're facing, it can either be added through an object, or to the runtime.

Just on a side note about the rain demo: it is a technical demo, and highly impressive :) pixel shaders and bumpmapping are professional techniques used in many games, and to be able to use them so easily is surely a big advantage for creators.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:28 pm

Oh God I love these threads.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 512
Reputation: 2,674

Post » Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:51 pm

So Rich,

in base we agree.

Picking objects is easy. You brought them by urself in the scene. You can see there Unique ID's.
You can work on theire names.

Instances created on runtime are not that easy to pick.

Theirfor, its very importand that events (combined with a condition) that pick an instance of an object pass their information the righ way to the actions.

I assume we agree on that too.

If the events are not able to do that, any fancy shader, any beautyfull made behaviour, any system object has no use.

Its like delevering a car with no steer and wheels.

I asked for an event "for each object on layer (x)' to simplyfie the picking of instances created on the run.

Half of that is allready in place beacuse u can create instances on layer (x), and that works perfect too.

Layers are a perfect and visual way to determinate groeps of objects at run tme, even better then the use of familys.

now with the event "for each object" combined with a condition " and how its implemented i have 2 problems.

One is general. Meaning, shifting this in 2 lines of code is confusing and it is the finger on the little shortcoming that hurts the whole events editor. It is a loop too, and not an event. Conditions paired to a loop should be placed in the actions. Why it should be 1 line of code.
De combination of 2 lines generates a lot of hidden errors too. (not bugs) Because the event editor allows u at present time to combine everything and anything, with no steering error reporting.
Let me return on this later on.

The second problem i have with that construction is specific to this construction. Namely, i was suggested to try "for each object" comebined with "is on layer". I ofcourse tried that and uploaded the . cap. So u guys could correct me if i am wrong. Its the link that made ashley upset. De construction dont work, less i put it wrong. So far no one made any attempt to look at the .cap.

And this again is a general pain in the events editor. Loops dont seem to work a lot. The essential "else" dont work too.

To say it again "If the events are not able to do that, any fancy shader, any beautyfull made behaviour, any system object has no use."

Allright, the DVD of my program is written, means my time is up, back to work. At home i will return to what i promissed to return to.

The plain Jerk salutes you.

And i am still curious about any upshowing .cap holding a working tetris clone. And a reasonable dude/dudette who points out the problems he/she meets, so they get solved. Secondly, i hope this .cap will add to a the documentation for newbys to construct .

Thats our job btw, Ashley cant do all this, Ashley has to get his mind in the events editor.
B
2
S
1
Reputation: 400

Post » Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:34 pm

[quote="thx4this4ndthat":3s1gt8uk]
I asked for an event "for each object on layer (x)' to simplyfie the picking of instances created on the run.
[/quote:3s1gt8uk]

I agree, more select conditions and for each conditions would be very welcome.

[quote="thx4this4ndthat":3s1gt8uk]
And this again is a general pain in the events editor. Loops dont seem to work a lot. The essential "else" dont work too.
[/quote:3s1gt8uk]

Could you upload a .cap with a broken loop; that would help Ashley locate any problem. ELSE should be fixed in 0.95.

[quote="thx4this4ndthat":3s1gt8uk]
And i am still curious about any upshowing .cap holding a working tetris clone. And a reasonable dude/dudette who points out the problems he/she meets, so they get solved. Secondly, i hope this .cap will add to a the documentation for newbys to construct .
[/quote:3s1gt8uk]

More tutorials and example .cap files are always welcome. If something prevents a certain game being made, it can usually be added easily. Destructible terrain is a good example of this, and an easy method has been added for 0.95.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:51 pm

[quote:lz79otkl]The second problem i have with that construction is specific to this construction. Namely, i was suggested to try "for each object" comebined with "is on layer". I ofcourse tried that and uploaded the . cap. So u guys could correct me if i am wrong. Its the link that made ashley upset.[/quote:lz79otkl]

Okay, now I'm confused. In this thread you have only posted links to a .exe of tetris. Where's the .cap file?!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:04 pm

B
2
S
1
Reputation: 400

Post » Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:31 pm

Ah, seems to be a bug there, will fix for next build.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Tue Apr 29, 2008 7:03 pm

j0h, I just wanted to say, that I enjoy reading your posts. Not in a way that I think I'm better than you or anything... you just sound like a mafia hitman. I like the tone; it's fun to read. :)
B
4
S
2
G
6
Posts: 161
Reputation: 2,597

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests