Workarounds for text objects for mobile

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:38 pm

I read that when exporting to Intel/CocoonJS XDK there are many functions that don't work - including text objects. If I have a variable that I would normally display via text object, what would be a good workaround? Is there a way I could use sprites instead? I couldn't find a tutorial for this. I'd really like to know if there's a way, because my main goal is to develop some iOS apps. Thanks! :)
B
7
Posts: 17
Reputation: 316

Post » Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:19 pm

You can use sprite font with CocoonJS: https://www.scirra.com/manual/166/sprite-font
Image
B
96
S
36
G
17
Posts: 351
Reputation: 15,903

Post » Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:23 pm

Here's a link to my Tutorial on Sprite fonts. I never use regular text for anything other than debugging anymore.

https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/629/sprite-fonts-the-how-what-when-where
B
230
S
62
G
33
Posts: 902
Reputation: 40,319

Post » Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:33 pm

+1 I only ever use spritefonts, even for desktop, html5. It looks best no matter what.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:21 am

Thanks for the response. I saw the thing on sprite fonts but was unsure as to whether or not it was supported. Thanks for clearing that up! You guys rock!
B
7
Posts: 17
Reputation: 316

Post » Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:34 pm

Where did you read text objects don't work? They should work on all the platforms you mentioned. If our own docs said that then we need to update them.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,367
Reputation: 193,744

Post » Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:57 pm

Message: amg314 is not yet permitted to post plain text URLS (300 rep required). 1 URLS removed. Why?
Ashley, this is where I saw that Textbox doesn't work: I've realized since making this post that that's a form control and is difference from the text object, so sorry for the confusion. I still plan on following the tutorials for the sprite text, though. It adds a really nice aesthetic.
B
7
Posts: 17
Reputation: 316

Post » Sat Apr 05, 2014 9:00 pm

Oh I just realized my rep isn't high enough to post links - anyway, I saw it on the guide for exporting to CocoonJS, but as I said, I was confused, lol.
B
7
Posts: 17
Reputation: 316


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: brunopalermo, dop2000, unxcellent and 6 guests