Working in Construct 2 on Linux

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:35 am

Hi!

Is there ANY way to work in Construct 2 on Linux? I've searched the forums and found some very old posts and people said it wasn't possible, but it's 2017 now and maybe someone has found a way? It would be amazing if I could work in Construct 2 on Linux.

P.S.
I know that it's going to be possible to work on Linux with Construct 3, but this one is out of my interest simply because I'm not a fan of subscription-based software at all. I'm totally fine with Construct 2 when I use it time to time for some small projects. Other times I'm working with a different engine.
So, please, don't suggest Construct 3 here.

Thanks.
B
12
S
2
G
1
Posts: 41
Reputation: 1,442

Post » Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:14 am

Hi,
You can use VM ( Virtual machine ) to simulate windows on your Linux . There are different software to do this but i suggest you Virtual box . You can find it on Ubuntu store . It's free and easy to use .
B
16
S
7
G
2
Posts: 47
Reputation: 2,347

Post » Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:13 pm

Hi, @mehrshadfarahani
I've tried Wine to run Construct 2 (from installation folder on Windows) but there was a problem with preview. It said something about HTTP if I remember right. If you suggest using Virtual Box, here are some questions:
1) How much is it different from Wine?
2) Should I run Construct's installation in Virtual Box or it's fine to use its .exe from the Windows installation folder?
B
12
S
2
G
1
Posts: 41
Reputation: 1,442

Post » Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:16 pm

BigDream wrote:Hi, @mehrshadfarahani
I've tried Wine to run Construct 2 (from installation folder on Windows) but there was a problem with preview. It said something about HTTP if I remember right. If you suggest using Virtual Box, here are some questions:
1) How much is it different from Wine?
2) Should I run Construct's installation in Virtual Box or it's fine to use its .exe from the Windows installation folder?

Wine is something very different !! Virtual box is a software that help you to install any os you want . All kinds of linux , all kinds of windows and ... . If you use virtual box, you'll have a real windows on your linux .
Image
B
16
S
7
G
2
Posts: 47
Reputation: 2,347

Post » Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:36 pm

Oh... I'm not sure if I want entire Windows OS to run on my Linux OS. The reason why I want to work in Linux is because it works much faster and better than Windows does (at least for me). All this for me is like selling hot dogs on a dirty street, then move to a comfortable shop but still stick your head out of a window to sell hot dogs on the same dirty street . If you know what I mean...
B
12
S
2
G
1
Posts: 41
Reputation: 1,442

Post » Sun Jul 30, 2017 6:17 pm

Maybe find a better street?
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
164
Posts: 8,238
Reputation: 105,595

Post » Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:27 pm

[quote="BigDream"][/quote]
I know what you mean , but there isn't better way to run c2 on linux . You don't have to run virtual box all the time . You can run it just when you need c2 . I also know a software named Crossover , But i didn't test it .
B
16
S
7
G
2
Posts: 47
Reputation: 2,347

Post » Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:03 am

@newt
That thing is Construct 3 (subscription-based), and in my first post I asked to not suggest it. The reason for that is also stated in my first post. Thanks.

@mehrshadfarahani
Looks like that's the only way then. Thanks.
B
12
S
2
G
1
Posts: 41
Reputation: 1,442


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests