Write text with blank lines

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:03 pm

Hello! I have a text box and am using the 'Write text' event to make a dialogue thingy. The only problem I have with this is that I can't have blank lines to separate the text.

Is it possible to do so? If I don't all the text just get's annoying and confusing.

-velo
B
4
S
1
G
2
Posts: 75
Reputation: 1,000

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:11 pm

Yes.
=> Text - Set text to:
"Your text" & NewLine & "Your new line"
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:15 pm

Thanks a bunch. Really needed that.
-velo
B
4
S
1
G
2
Posts: 75
Reputation: 1,000

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:18 pm

But that wouldn't generate a blank line. For a blank line, use 2x NewLine:

"Text" & NewLine & NewLine & "more text"

the wiki shows other expressions also (scroll to the paragraph "text"):
http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/construct/index.php?title=System_Expressions
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:23 pm

Yes, I found that out on myself, but thanks for the extra info anyway.

-velo
B
4
S
1
G
2
Posts: 75
Reputation: 1,000


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests