Xbox USB D-pad unresponsive at start of layout

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 04, 2014 11:50 pm

CAPX: https://www.dropbox.com/s/j1xex9zpk1k3p ... ickV1.capx
Select the layout "LO Level 1".
D-pad to move left/right.
A button: jump
X button: throw rock

I'm working on a platformer using the Xbox USB controller. The parameters for the Platform behavior are set to non-default so that the controls are relegated to the controller.

Whenever I start up a layout to test new changes, the vast majority of the time the character in question will not move until after I've pushed one of the button (A/B/X/Y). For the life of me I do not understand why this is or how to remedy it.

Anyone smarter than me have some advice? Thank you, deeply!
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
141
S
23
G
8
Posts: 790
Reputation: 15,017

Post » Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:55 am

IIRC this is simply the nature of the gamepad object, and by extension Chrome - you need to hit a face button before additional input is recognised.

The easiest workaround is to have a button prompt like "Hit A to start".

Off the top of my head a simulate control action tree for the gamepad object would solve this (You could simulate "A" being pressed on start of layout for example) but I imagine that could cause a myriad of problems (Especially if the user doesn't have a gamepad connected)
B
60
S
21
G
10
Posts: 643
Reputation: 10,320

Post » Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:13 am

Mr E Bear wrote:The easiest workaround is to have a button prompt like "Hit A to start".

That's an excellent idea. I was kinda wondering how I might do something similar to that - even your idea about simulating that the button was pressed at all - but that hits the nail on the head. Thanks. :)

I'm aware of the lack of gamepad option, too. I'll double-check if C2 has a "check for gamepad" option and take it from there. I'll surely make the keyboard usable.

Thanks! :D
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
141
S
23
G
8
Posts: 790
Reputation: 15,017

Post » Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:18 am

No problem :)

The gamepad object does indeed have several events that check for gamepads ("has", "on connected" and "are supported") but to my knowledge still require a button to be pressed (Y)
B
60
S
21
G
10
Posts: 643
Reputation: 10,320

Post » Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:20 am

Mr E Bear wrote:The gamepad object does indeed have several events that check for gamepads ("has", "on connected" and "are supported") but to my knowledge still require a button to be pressed (Y)

Hmm...aw well. Your "press A to start" idea still blows this problem out of the water. :) I'm satisfied.
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
141
S
23
G
8
Posts: 790
Reputation: 15,017


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JackTYGA, mekonbekon, Yahoo [Bot], zenox98 and 21 guests