Yep The Scrolling Gap.

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:02 pm

Perhaps this will help:
http://www.scirra.com/FORUM/wrap-alignment-issue_topic54943_post343000.html?KW=warp#343000

More specifically do this:
spr_Mountains x<=-768
---- spr_Mountains: set x to self.x+768*2

TiledBackground x<=-256
---- TiledBackground: set x to self.x+256*2

spr_Hills x<=-768
---- spr_Hills: set x to self.x+768*2

spr_Grass x<=-256
---- spr_Grass: set x to self.x+512*3
B
79
S
24
G
55
Posts: 4,755
Reputation: 41,273

Post » Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:26 pm

so delta time is not needed?
B
32
S
9
G
3
Posts: 275
Reputation: 8,063

Post » Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:39 pm

My post was about just modifying the group "grp_TilingPieces". Your event elsewhere that moves the sprites with delta time is correct.
B
79
S
24
G
55
Posts: 4,755
Reputation: 41,273

Post » Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:35 pm

man still cannot remedy that gappsters. hmmmm i wonder if there is another way to scroll.?
B
32
S
9
G
3
Posts: 275
Reputation: 8,063

Post » Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:19 pm

I've noticed different thing with very fast scrolling background some time ago (with C2 r81) and yesterday I opened up that project to see how it works after exporting to awesomium.

Here's html5 version - Trench Run HTML5

Here's exe version - Trench Run.exe

Move with arrows
shoot with space (hold space for powerful shoot)


On my pc, html version is quite unplayable. Frame rate stay high, but screen is very choppy. At first i though that's the issue caused by those panels/grebbles sprites. I did spawn and delete them on runtime (almost 300 sprites on screen) to create never ending tunnel - spawn on top and destroy after leaving layout. On second attempt I placed them on layout and only move y position to wrap around the screen - doesn't help a bit. On my last attempt (current version) I've converted them to TileBG, 1 Tdb = 9 old sprites, so on screen i have only 6 tilebg's - still no improvement.

I'm not sure but pretty convinced that is caused by time delta. I could be wrong, but remember doing some test without dt and screen moves a lot smoother - but speed was different due to frame rate difference.

With exe there's no issue at all, runs very smoothly.
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:51 am

Thanks for the very helpful unformation Shinkan! I will check out awesomium and maybe I will just remove dt for this game and see how it functions. Thank a lot!!!
B
32
S
9
G
3
Posts: 275
Reputation: 8,063

Post » Sun Aug 26, 2012 1:33 pm

Ok so for this I have concluded that there will always be gaps BUT since I was such a noob I just used a TILING BG instead of a sprite. everyone shout NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOB together HAHHAHAHAHA. ok so just using the same method as my BG makes the world better. NO GAPS NO PROBS.
B
32
S
9
G
3
Posts: 275
Reputation: 8,063

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ETgirl79 and 15 guests