YKeeg Launcher++

Post your Construct-made creations!

Post » Sat Jul 11, 2009 7:06 am

BUG FIX: There was a nuisance bug with creating an alias where after creating the alias, the Unable to Create Alias dialog box popped up. This has been fixed and the update can be downloaded from the same link just below. It should overwrite the proper files without changing your saved data.

[url:3b8ey1uo]http://www.box.net/shared/kmpmjh3fyp[/url:3b8ey1uo]

Also, here are a few snapshots






A file launching program I've been working on for a few weeks (thus the incremented symbols.) I just recently heard about these, so for those that don't know, its a program that lets you clean shortcuts off your desktop but still have the quick access they provide.

You Create an Alias and connect a file's path (up to 3 files per Alias) to that Alias. After you've created an Alias, you can launch the program, file, or folder by typing in the Alias (or selecting it from a List Box) and hitting the Launch button or Ctrl on your keyboard. Theres also the option to launch an individual program by pressing Alt and 1-3 corresponding to which field you placed it in. You can delete an Alias, redirect one or all three paths to an Alias, open the readme file or a .txt list of your Aliases.

There is second layout which automatically shrinks when you change to it, so you can place the program in a corner of your desktop. I suggest the upper left so you don't have to keep adjusting it on the screen when switching between layouts.

There are plenty of ? boxes on screen to give you information and tips, plus a full Readme file that can be called up with a single button click.

Future plans include a Rename function so you don't have to delete and create the Alias all over again and alphabetizing the output list of your Aliases.

If you have any other suggestions feel free to yell them out here or email at the address provided in the readme.
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 114
Reputation: 1,553

Post » Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:36 am

Bug Fix: There was a bug that when you used the Ctrl key to launch all paths, launched Path 2 twice instead of launching the third. Thats now working correctly.

New Feature: I added a Renaming feature so you don't have to delete and create a whole new alias if you don't like the name you used. With this, you also don't have to have any of the Path fields entered.

Screenshots: Small Screen and Main Menu



[url:33rtg0ji]http://www.box.net/shared/lsyo8kzl6v[/url:33rtg0ji]
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 114
Reputation: 1,553

Post » Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:46 am

It's pretty interesting and I understood what the point was, but having all the boxes on the same screen even with the step by step instructions was still fairly complicated. Maybe a more user friendly way to make it is where the settings are in seperate layouts or popup windows from a main selection of options?
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:25 pm

Thank you for the input, that was a concern, especially with the Renaming. I've got an idea for a file cabinet like design, where each page has a tab at the top you click on to change to it.

It'll be a week before I start working on it again, so any more suggestions ya'll want to supply in the mean time is much appreciated.
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 114
Reputation: 1,553

Post » Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:14 am

[quote="MisfitBYTE":38z7tgx4]Thank you for the input, that was a concern, especially with the Renaming. I've got an idea for a file cabinet like design, where each page has a tab at the top you click on to change to it.[/quote:38z7tgx4]

Ah, that sounds much better =)

And for other suggestions all I could imagine extra is maybe minimizing to taskbar (although, I forget if Construct supports this) to allow simply right clicking the icon and selecting "Run App" to only bring up an edit box to run an already existing alias. There would of course need to be other options like "Open Main Window" and "Exit" probably
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:18 am

I'm confused about what you're saying. There already is a smaller screen that only has the launch field, Main Menu and exit (and a tiny list box for quick selection.) I could set it to load to that screen when the program starts, if thats what you mean.

As for minimizing to the task bar, do you mean to Quick Launch? Because it does minimize to the taskbar.

I haven't figured out how to do it yet, but I'm going to try to make it where the input field will actually show up in the taskbar.
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 114
Reputation: 1,553

Post » Sat Jul 25, 2009 7:46 am

[url:2a2kqbr1]http://www.box.net/shared/2tjqrm0axx[/url:2a2kqbr1]

This is the final update for my launcher (unless for bug fixes.) I've decided to postpone changing the GUI in favor of work on a few of my games.

Please report any bugs to the email address found in the README file.
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 114
Reputation: 1,553


Return to Your Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest