Z not rendering when zoomed?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon May 30, 2011 9:16 am

The Z sprites only seem to render in the top left quarter of the screen when I'm zoomed in?

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1024727/disapear.cap
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Wed Jun 01, 2011 7:12 am

bump
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:28 am

I played about with the settings, works with zoom at 180(zoom)
Also had to reposition and resize the sprites slightly

+ System: Start of layout
-> System: Set Zoom to (180, 180)
-> Sprite: Set Z elevation to 0
-> Sprite2: Set Z elevation to 0

[url:390yyssj]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/22173473/dissapearwork.cap[/url:390yyssj]
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,206
Reputation: 7,300

Post » Wed Jun 01, 2011 1:09 pm

Thats the whole point, everything works at elevation 0 but when you add the Z dimension to sprites the rendering stops working correctly (when zoomed).

It almost seems like its being offset or something? like this (where the black is the screen, and red is the Z rendered screen):



but i could be wrong, lol.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:32 pm

Looks like you've ran into what amounts to an unimplemented feature using 3d.
Since the Z is based on the camera view, what your essentially doing when you change the zoom is altering the eye distance. If they ever change events to allow changing the eye distance during runtime that should be fixable.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:50 pm

This cap might help.
[url:sd395px9]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/22173473/Zelevation.cap[/url:sd395px9]

The initial zoom is set to zero, use left and right mouse to Zoom in and out.
Use the up and down arrow keys to change the sprites Z elevation.



The flag image is added behind.
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,206
Reputation: 7,300

Post » Wed Jun 01, 2011 8:30 pm

Didn't have time to read through all the responses, but if you mean how zooming messes up 3d display, this bug is a pet peeve of mine. I started working on it, but schedule got nuts so I can't promise a next version fix. If r0j0 reads this though he might fix it, he has a tendency to do awesome fixes when they appear in posts. It just amounts to an incorrect calculation of what needs to be drawn on screen
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:57 am

Thanks for letting me know that its fixable at least.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:09 pm

[quote="alspal":225cm5tc]Thanks for letting me know that its fixable at least.[/quote:225cm5tc]

Re: Z not rendering when zoomed?

I thought my example illustrated that you can zoom, and the sprites still render? :?
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,206
Reputation: 7,300

Post » Fri Jun 03, 2011 3:34 pm

I haven't looked at your example, but I know there are several circumstances where z zooming messes up rendering. you just can't distort freely in the z, or move sprites into the z and move freely without problems. Maybe your example is a special case where it works, or your pc in an exception, because in most cases, its a mess
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests