Z-Order tap in the interface has a bug

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sat Jul 30, 2016 6:24 am

Problem Description
Z-Order tap in the interface does not refresh when you change the order of any object. It completely hide all the objects unless if I disable or enable "Show active layers only" every time I change a Z-Order of any object.

Attach a Capx
No capx needed. It is an interface of C2 problem.


Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Step 1 Go to z_order tap.
  • Step 2 Change or move any object to change it's order in the list of the objects.
  • Step 3 You will notice that all the objects will disappear.
  • Step 4 Select "Show active layers only" (whether it is enable or disable) just switch is to the opposite, and all objects will appear again.

Observed Result
All objects disappear.

Expected Result
All objects should appear.


Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 7

Construct 2 Version ID
C2 V231 Beta Version.
B
60
S
19
G
5
Posts: 32
Reputation: 5,692

Post » Mon Aug 01, 2016 3:36 pm

Closing, please provide a .capx with the objects, Z ordering and layers that you describe. The .capx is always required and is not just for runtime bugs, it is useful for all bug reports, as described in the bug report requirements. I cannot follow your steps to reproduce without it.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,519
Reputation: 195,361

Post » Tue Aug 02, 2016 3:16 pm

I found exactly when the objects disappear. They disappear when I choose any event sheet tap and at the same time I try to change any object in the Z-Order tap. But if I choose the layout tap and try to make a change in z-order tap everything is fine.

Here is the link of the capx:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/28utnvhvfkn19yu/z-Oreder-Test.capx?dl=0
B
60
S
19
G
5
Posts: 32
Reputation: 5,692

Post » Tue Aug 02, 2016 3:44 pm

Okay,
so you are in the layout (tab),
you open the Z order bar from the ribbon (or you have the z order bar pinned),
you switch to te event sheet by clicking its tab ....

Now the Z order bar is showing the objects.
Wich is, i agree a bit confusing. Althaught i never used it that way, so it never botherd me.

Now, when you try to change something in the Z order bar, the Z order bar goes empty. No object dissapears, the Z order bar just shows empty. Wich (mayby just maybe) should have happend (to avoid confusing) on the moment that you switched to the event sheet (by clicking its tab).

It is really not needed to change Z orders while working in the event sheet. I never had the need to do that. Just like i never had the need to place tiles from the tile bar into the layout when working in a event sheet.

My 2 cents.
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Tue Aug 02, 2016 3:59 pm

I guess by "tap" you mean "bar" (as in Z order bar) or "tab" (as in event sheet tab)?

Either way I can't reproduce any problem and this bug report is now closed, so you'll need to file a new report with full reproducible details if you want this investigated further.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,519
Reputation: 195,361

Post » Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:28 am

99Instances2Go wrote:Okay,
so you are in the layout (tab),
you open the Z order bar from the ribbon (or you have the z order bar pinned),
you switch to te event sheet by clicking its tab ....

Now the Z order bar is showing the objects.
Wich is, i agree a bit confusing. Althaught i never used it that way, so it never botherd me.

Now, when you try to change something in the Z order bar, the Z order bar goes empty. No object dissapears, the Z order bar just shows empty. Wich (mayby just maybe) should have happend (to avoid confusing) on the moment that you switched to the event sheet (by clicking its tab).

It is really not needed to change Z orders while working in the event sheet. I never had the need to do that. Just like i never had the need to place tiles from the tile bar into the layout when working in a event sheet.

My 2 cents.


Yes. if you reorganize the objects in the Z-Order bar, objects will disappear if you in the same time working in the event sheet.
Even if you can bypass this by selecting the layout bar not the event sheet, It is a bug as I guess.
Anyways, I just want to report it but the subject is closed.

Thanks
B
60
S
19
G
5
Posts: 32
Reputation: 5,692


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests