Translations

Know another language? Translate this tutorial!

Stats

15.6K visitors
84.2K page views
623 translation visitors
2,023 translation page views

How to preview on a local network

Favourite 99 favourites
Tutorial written by AshleyOriginally published on 19th, January 2012 - 9 revisions

Previewing on a LAN address in Construct 2 allows any device on your Local Area Network (LAN) to preview your project. For example, if you have both a PC and an iPad on Wifi, you can preview your game on the iPad without having to go through the whole export-project process. Alternatively other PCs and laptops on the network can share the preview, which can be handy if you're working together in a team. It's a great time saver! Here's how to set it up. However, you must have administrator access to your computer for it to work, and please note this feature is not available in the free edition.

Step 1: enable Preview on LAN

Open the Preferences dialog from the File menu. You need to enter your computer's IP address on the LAN for Preview on LAN address. This is not your IP address on the Internet - it's just the address for the local network. It's usually in the format 192.168.X.Y, 172.X.Y.Z, or 10.X.Y.Z.

If you already know your computer's LAN address, you can enter it now. If you don't know, Construct 2 can try to detect some possible options. Click the button to the right of the Preview on LAN address to see some options, circled in red below.

Preview on LAN in Preferences.
The dialog below should appear. Computers can sometimes have multiple local addresses, which means there may be a little trial and error involved. Alternative ways to find your local IP address are running ipconfig from a commandline, or hovering the mouse over your computer in the Network Map in Windows Vista or later. If you have a router, its software can sometimes show you your local IP address as well.

Possible LAN addresses.
Note localhost means the preview only runs on your computer - you can't preview on the LAN in this case, but you also don't need administrator permissions to preview.

In this case, the correct IP for the computer the above picture was taken on is 192.168.1.3. Double-clicking the entry closes the dialog and sets it as the Preview on LAN address.

Click OK. A prompt will appear with some information about previewing on LAN addresses. Don't worry about it, we're already going through that in more detail.

Close Construct 2 since we have a bit more setup to do.

Share and Copy this Tutorial

You are free to copy, distribute, transmit and adapt this work with correct attribution. Click for more info.

Comments

7
ludodesign 22.5k rep

I really liked this. I wanna test. Good Work people o/

Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 5:23:40 PM
3
tavitooo 4,801 rep

Yeah in this moment I will test!!. thanks guys!! you simplify life!!!

Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 5:48:52 PM
3
Velojet 16.9k rep

That is brilliant, Ashley. Quite a thrill to see it running on another device on my LAN!

Your tutorial made it very easy to set up, thanks.

Just one little glitch - when I tried typing in my LAN address in the Preferences dialog, it wouldn't allow me to enter a dot (.) I got 'Unacceptable Character You can only type numbers here.' I got around it by accepting the suggested '192.168.2.10' - which I could then change, without complaint about unacceptable characters.

Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 8:25:16 PM
6
Ashley 112.8k rep

@Velojet - oops, thanks, fixed for next build!

Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 10:43:53 PM
0
smitchell 7,230 rep

I just tested this, got everything working. so i typed in my ip address like you said, Something like this: http://http://192.168.0.3:50000/ But when i go on my iphone and have a look nothing loads up, And apple give me a error. Something to do with there server being unresponsive.

Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 11:15:08 PM
3
Ashley 112.8k rep

@smitchell, did you mean to have http twice there? You only need it once.

Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 11:18:08 PM
3
smitchell 7,230 rep

Yeah typo whilst writing comment. On device there was only 1

Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 11:21:14 PM
3
Ashley 112.8k rep

Are you sure you got the right IP, set up the firewall right and ran C2 as admin?

Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 11:37:44 PM
3
Velojet 16.9k rep

... and @smitchell, does that URL work in preview mode on your desktop machine? i.e. in C2, you click 'Run layout' and in your desktop browser you see your game, and then you enter on your iPhone the URL that's in the address bar of your desktop browser ? Do you still get the same timeout error?

Friday, January 20, 2012 at 12:38:32 AM
3
Wink 9,520 rep

This works great! When I preview on LAN all sounds are working on my Samsung Galaxy S running the Gingerbread OS. This has never happened before with a PhoneGap build.

I was wondering if I will now have sound when I make a PhoneGap build?

Friday, January 20, 2012 at 3:54:34 AM
1
dinofun 3,176 rep

Awesome. Works great on Android Bionic. @smitchell-my phone initially wasn't on Wi-Fi, instead it was looking for the preview thru Verizons cloud. Once I enabled Wi-Fi it took right off.

Saturday, January 28, 2012 at 5:19:09 PM
1
dinofun 3,176 rep

Just another comment on this feature. I notice that if my phone is on and I'm working with Construct 2 on my desktop and I click "preview" on the desktop...it automatically updates and refreshes on the phone. If that isn't worth the price of the license, I don't know what is. No more constant uploading to a website to check/test. Pretty dang cool!

Saturday, January 28, 2012 at 5:47:20 PM
1
smitchell 7,230 rep

Yeah i figured this out in the end anyways. I just played with my local settings and it ended up working :)

Saturday, January 28, 2012 at 7:45:17 PM
1
andreas 2,483 rep

I had the same problem as smitchell. turns out my home network was categorized as a public one, it therefor didn't work when I unchecked the public option like in the tutorial. simply changed the settings of my network to become private. works great now :)

Wednesday, February 01, 2012 at 7:31:04 PM
2
farsmile90 9,157 rep

work fine with my galaxy tab. but it's have a little bit slowly and lagging...

Wednesday, February 29, 2012 at 5:31:41 PM

Leave a comment

Everyone is welcome to leave their thoughts! Register a new account or login.