Construct 2 Safari on iOS keyboard bug

Report Construct 2 bugs here.

Post » Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:01 am

This is a repost of the exact bug here: https://www.scirra.com/forum/bug-with-textbox-in-ios-with-capx-thanks-in-adance_t103632

Problem Description
After opening the iOS keyboard by touching a textbox in the C2 project, and then closing it, Construct 2 does not reposition the game correctly. On the google chrome app for iOS. this does not happen.

This only seems to be happening on certain devices. I have confirmed the bug occurs on: Iphone 5s, and iphone 7 plus. But it does not seem to occur on iphone 6 & 7.

Attach a Capx
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44188718/KeyboardBug.capx

Description of Capx
A minimal test case.
The layout parallax is also set to 0,0.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
Tap on textbox in Safari on iOS then close the keyboard.

Observed Result
The window remains pushed up, with black space below it.

Expected Result
The game would preposition itself like it does on iOS chrome.

Construct 2 Version ID
r223

You can also test the export here:
http://gambler-appeal-81281.bitballoon.com/

Screenshots of the issue:

The default view
Image
The view after closing the keyboard (notice how it stays shifted up)
Image
And continues being shifted to the next layout.
Image

If this bug can't be fixed quickly, does anyone know potential work arounds?

EDIT:
If anyone else is having this issue, here's a work-around:

Image

It's not perfect because there is no way to detect when text input on mobile is finished so you have to either wait until the next layout or do it on text changed, which make the keyboard cover up the textbox.
Last edited by Reflextions on Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:11 pm, edited 5 times in total.
B
72
S
24
G
11
Posts: 452
Reputation: 12,380

Post » Tue Oct 18, 2016 11:49 am

This uses a third-party behavior 'Anchor ratio'. Please don't use third party addons in bug reports as per the guidelines, to ensure that the addon is not the cause of the problem.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,519
Reputation: 195,361

Post » Tue Oct 18, 2016 5:06 pm

Ashley wrote:This uses a third-party behavior 'Anchor ratio'. Please don't use third party addons in bug reports as per the guidelines, to ensure that the addon is not the cause of the problem.


Sorry, I forgot to remove that. The link has been updated.
B
72
S
24
G
11
Posts: 452
Reputation: 12,380

Post » Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:46 pm

I have updated the entire post with new information and links, please try on an iphone 7 plus or iphone 5/5s if possible. Regards.
B
72
S
24
G
11
Posts: 452
Reputation: 12,380

Post » Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:46 am

Bump
B
72
S
24
G
11
Posts: 452
Reputation: 12,380


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests